Mohammad Azharuddin chooses 5 all-rounders for Indian team in Asia Cup and T20 WC 2022; Do not consider Washington Sundar –


Message Views: 0

Former Indian cricket team captain Mohammad Azharuddin recently named the five all-rounders who could find a place in the Indian squad for the upcoming Asia Cup and ICC T20 World Cup mega events. India will participate in the two mega T20 events later this year, with multiple opponents waiting for them. According to Azharuddin, there could be two spin bowling all-rounders and three pace bowling all-rounders in the selection.

During a discussion with CricTracker, Mohammad Azharuddin gave his thoughts on the players who could fit into the Indian squad as all-rounders for Asia Cup T20 and ICC T20 World Cup 2022. Mohammad mentioned the names of those five players and chose Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja as the two spin bowling options while Hardik Pandya, Deepak Chahar and Shardul Thakur were the tempo bowling options.

Here’s what Azharuddin had to say when asked about the Indian squad’s potential all-rounders for Asia Cup and ICC T20 World Cup 2022:

“When you have Hardik on your side, you want an all-rounder of his caliber, but you are definitely on the back foot with his injury. Along with them, I think Deepak Chahar and Shardul Thakur should be there in the team. When it comes to spinners, I choose Ashwin and Jadeja because of their experience.”

Mohammad Azharuddin chose R Ashwin for his good performance in IPL 2022

Mohammad Azharuddin explained the rationale behind choosing R Ashwin in the all-rounders section and pointed out that the off spinner has done well for the Rajasthan Royals in IPL 2022. So he wants him in the squad because of his experience.

The other options available to spin bowling all-rounders were Axar Patel, Rahul Tewatia and Washington Sundar. However, Mohammad ignored them all and went with the tried and true duo of Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja, who also played for India in the 2021 ICC T20 World Cup.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here